Shut Down and Reboot

The Shut Down and Reboot page enables you to accomplish the following tasks:

About halting the storage system

The Halt button halts the storage system. After you click this button, the following events take place:

After you halt the storage system, you cannot continue to use FilerView to communicate with it. You must use the storage system console for entering storage system commands. 

Cluster considerations

You cannot halt the storage system if it is an emulated (or failed) storage system.

After you halt a clustered storage system, the partner takes over the storage system you halted.

Note: If the storage system is part of a cluster, a Halt but No Takeover button is displayed, enabling you to halt the storage system. However, the partner does not take over the storage system you are halting.

About rebooting the storage system

The Reboot button reboots the storage system. You can reboot the storage system to activate any modifications to configuration files or to run a newly installed version of storage system software.

Rebooting the storage system halts the storage system, logs a message to the /etc/messages file to indicate the storage system was deliberately rebooted, and then restarts the storage system.

Cluster considerations

You cannot reboot the storage system if it is a emulated (or failed) storage system.

Related Topics