When the filer is halted or rebooted, NFS client applications wait for the filer to resume NFS activity. Following a reboot, they can resume without error (unless impatient users have canceled them). The effect on CIFS clients is different. If a CIFS client is disconnected from the filer, the users' applications are terminated, and changes made to open files since the last save are lost. Therefore, never interrupt CIFS service without giving advanced warnings to users.
To check for active CIFS sessions, click active CIFS clients on the this window.
Before turning off the filer, halt the filer, which sends a warning message to CIFS users letting them know when the system will shut down. In this way, the users can save files and exit applications within the time period you specified before the actual shut down. Also, halting the filer flushes all data from NVRAM to disk.
NOTE: Clients using Windows 95 or Windows for Workgroups can display the CIFS shutdown messages only when the clients' WinPopup program is configured to receive messages. The ability to display messages from the filer is built into Windows NT.
This window displays the following boxes and buttons: