This window enables you to perform these tasks:
You can create up to 23 volumes on each filer. To create a volume, follow these steps:
Click the OK button. The procedure for creating a volume is now complete.
Click the OK button. The procedure for creating a volume is now complete.
NOTE: Disks are added to one RAID group at a time. For example, if the number of disks in each RAID group is 14, and you create a volume of 33 disks, the volume will contain two RAID groups of 14 disks and one RAID group of 5 disks.
The procedure for adding a disks to a volume is the same as the procedure for creating a volume except that you cannot specify the size of each RAID group when you add disks.
Click the OK button after you fill out the appropriate fields.
To destroy a volume, follow these steps:
The disks originally in the volume become spare disks.
To rename a volume, follow these steps:
If the renamed volume is an NFS-exported file system, modify the /etc/exports file so that the volume can be exported next time the filer reads the file. For CIFS and HTTP services, the filer automatically updates the volume name.
To put a volume on-line or take a volume off-line, follow these steps:
To put a volume on-line, the volume must be currently offline or foreign. A foreign volume is a volume that consists of disks moved from another filer and that has never been brought online on the current filer.
A volume can go on-line immediately without a filer reboot. A volume goes off-line only after a filer reboot. Before the reboot, if you change your mind about taking a volume off-line, click the Online button and then the OK button. In this case, the volume will not change its status after the filer reboot.
You can specify several options for a volume in the Volume Options section of this window. The buttons in this section enables you to determine whether the option is on or off, or whether the specified option is the root volume.
For each option, click on the option button and then the OK button. If you don't want to make any changes to the current settings of the volume options, click the None button and then the OK button. The following list shows the volume options:
Configures the filer to perform minimal read ahead. By default, the option is disabled and the filer does aggressive read ahead.
Prevents the update of the access time (atime) on an inode when a file is read. This option prevents inode updates from contending with reads from other files. Use this option only on a volume with extremely high read traffic (for example, on a news server used by an Internet access provider or on a filer used mainly as an HTTP server).
Enables or disables snapshots. A snapshot is a read-only copy of the entire file system-it reflects the state of the file system at the time the snapshot was created. Any client of a filer can access snapshots to recover old versions of files (for example, files that have been accidentally changed or deleted). The snapshot feature allows users to restore their own files without your intervention, because files in snapshots can be viewed and copied by those who have permission to do so with the original files.
Each volume can have up to 20 snapshots at one time.
Makes the .snapshot directory that is typically present at client mount points or the root of the CIFS share invisible. It also turns off access to the .snapshot directory and all .snapshot directories under the mount point or the root of the CIFS share. By default, this option is disabled.
Makes the selected volume the root volume at the next filer reboot. This option can be selected for one volume only. The existing volume, at the next reboot, will become a non-root volume.