This window displays the names and access control lists (ACL) for each share. You can also the buttons to create or delete a share. For an existing share, you can modify the share and its access control list.
The window provides two lines of information for each share. The first line displays the following information:
Name: The name of the share. CIFS users use this name to connect to the share.
Mount Point: The complete path name of the directory on the filer that is offered as a share to CIFS users.
Description: The text that describes the purpose of the share. This field is required by the CIFS protocol. The description is displayed in the shares list in the Network Neighborhood when the share is displayed.
The second line displays the access control list for the share. Read (r), write (w), and execute (x) privileges can be given to specific groups and users. A group name is followed by {g}. For example, the group Engineering is shown as Engineering{g}.
NOTE: The group named "everyone" is defined by default. When it is used in an ACL for a specific share, it indicates that all CIFS users have access to that share.
The following list describes the buttons in the CIFS share/access editor window:
CAUTION: You can delete a share only if client applications have no open files in the share you want to delete. Always check the active CIFS sessions before you delete a share.