Managing the cluster in normal mode

Cluster management overview

You manage a cluster in normal mode by performing the following actions:

Monitoring cluster status

To find out whether the cluster feature is enabled and whether the other filer in the cluster is up, enter cf status.

A display like the following appears:

filer1> cf status
Cluster enabled, filer2 is up.

This tells you that both filer1 and filer2 are functioning and available for takeover.

If you see a Cluster disabled message, it might mean that

Displaying the partner's name

To find out the name of the other filer in the cluster, enter cf partner.

Displaying cluster configuration information

To find out about cluster configuration, use the sysconfig or vol status command. In a cluster, the sysconfig and vol status displays are special in that they display information about both filers. For each filer, the sysconfig command display includes disks on both FC-AL loop A and FC-AL loop B.

Controlling time synchronization

You can disable time synchronization on a filer or in a cluster. Normally, both filers should have the same value for this option.

Licensing and unlicensing the cluster feature

You can license or unlicense the cluster feature only in normal mode with takeover disabled. Complete these steps to unlicense the cluster feature.

Step Action
1 If the filer has taken over its partner, enter the following command to perform a giveback:
cf giveback
2 Enter the following command to disable clustering:
cf disable
3 Enter the following command to unlicense clustering:
license cluster=disable
4 Enter the following command to reboot the filer and make the change take effect:
reboot

Copyright © 1999, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights reserved.

Part No. 210-02334
File: clust8.htm
Last updated: 04/26/99 08:11:41