Reverting a volume to a selected snapshot

Description

Use SnapRestore to revert a volume to a snapshot. You can use this feature at any time. After you enter the command for reverting a volume, the filer reboots with the volume containing the same data as it did when the snapshot was taken.

Prerequisites

You must meet these prerequisites before using SnapRestore:

Cautions

Be sure that you understand the following rules before reverting a volume:

Steps

Follow these steps to revert one or more volumes. At any time before you enter y in the last step, if for some reason, you do not want to proceed with the volume reversion, enter Ctrl-C.

Step Action
1 Notify network users that you are going to revert a volume so that they know the current data in the volume will be replaced by that of the selected snapshot. NFS users can unmount the files and directories in the volume before the reversion. If they do not unmount the files and directories, they might see the "Stale file handle" error message after the volume reversion.
2 If you know the name of the snapshot for reverting the volume, go to Step 5. If you want to review the list of snapshots available for volume reversion, enter the following command:
vol snaprestore volume ...

volume is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path.

You can enter multiple volume names in the command, separated by spaces.

Result
The filer displays a warning message and prompts you to confirm your decision for reverting the volume. Between the time you enter the vol snaprestore command and the time when reversion is completed, the filer stops deleting and creating snapshots.
3 Enter y to confirm that you want to revert the volume.
Result
The filer displays a list of snapshots for you to choose from.
4 Enter the name of the snapshot for reverting the volume and go to Step 7.
Result
The filer displays the name of the volume and the name of the snapshot for the reversion. Then it asks whether you want to reboot the filer to proceed with the reversion.
5 Enter the following command:
vol snaprestore volume -s snapshot [volume -s snapshot 
...]

volume is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path.

snapshot is the name of the snapshot for volume reversion.

You can enter multiple pairs of volume name and snapshot name in the command.

Result
The filer displays a warning message and prompts you to confirm your decision for reverting the volume. Between the time you enter the vol snaprestore command and the time when reversion is completed, the filer stops deleting and creating snapshots.
6 Enter y to confirm that you want to revert the volume.
Result
The filer displays the name of the volume and the name of the snapshot for the reversion. Then it asks whether you want to reboot the filer to proceed with the reversion.
7 Enter y to confirm that you want to continue with the reversion.
Result
The filer reboots.


Copyright © 1999, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights reserved.

Part No. 210-02334
File: disk10.htm
Last updated: 04/26/99 08:11:15