Disabling data replication for one volume
Description
You can stop data replication for a particular volume if you decide that there is no need to update the mirror. For example, you might want to change the mirror to a regular volume.
You can disable data replication at any time, even when data transfer is underway. The destination volume remains the same as before the transfer. The snapshot taken in the source volume for the data transfer remains, but is deleted and replaced by a new snapshot the next time the mirror is updated.
Steps to disable data replication for one volume
Follow these steps to disable data replication for one volume. These steps disable volume replication until you reenable it.
|
Step
|
Action
|
|---|
|
1
|
Comment out the entry in the /etc/snapmirror.conf file by preceding the entry with a pound sign (#).
|
|
2
|
Enter the vol snapmirror on command to make the filer reread the /etc/snapmirror.conf file.
Result
If the filer is currently transferring data from that volume, the transfer stops immediately.
|
Steps to disable data replication while data transfer is in progress
Follow these steps to disable data replication while data transfer is in progress. These steps stop the replication temporarily; at the time of the next scheduled update, data replication starts up again.
|
Step
|
Action
|
|---|
|
1
|
Enter the vol copy status command to display the operation numbers of the volume copy.
Result
Because SnapMirror uses the vol copy command to transfer data, the vol copy status command displays all volume copy operations, including the one for replicating a volume.
|
|
2
|
Enter the vol copy abort command to terminate the volume copy operation.
Result
The filer stops copying data and displays messages similar to these:
image operation 0 is now being aborted
image operation 1 is now being aborted
|
Copyright © 1999, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-02334
File: mirror11.htm
Last updated: 04/26/99 08:11:54