Shutdown and reboot |
||
| Wait field | This window enables you to do the following tasks:
Wait fieldIn this field, you specify the number of minutes the filer waits before it shuts down as a result of the halt or reboot command. Specifying a wait period enables the filer to send notifications to connected CIFS users about the impending shutdown. A wait time before shutdown is not required for a filer running NFS only because when the filer is halted or rebooted, NFS client applications wait for the filer to resume NFS activity. Following a reboot, they can resume without error (unless users have canceled them). The effect on CIFS clients is different. If a CIFS client is disconnected from the filer, the users' applications are terminated, and changes made to open files since the last save are lost. Therefore, never interrupt CIFS service without giving advance warnings to users. The advance warnings give CIFS users an opportunity to save files and exit applications within the time period you specify before the shutdown. NOTE: Clients using Windows 95 or Windows for Workgroups can display the CIFS shutdown messages only when the clients' WinPopup program is configured to receive messages. The ability to display messages from the filer is built into Windows NT. Dump core check boxClick this check box if you want to dump the system core before halting the filer. Halt buttonThis button halts the filer. After you click this button, the following events take place:
After you halt the filer, you cannot continue to use FilerView to communicate with it.
You must use the filer console for entering filer commands. On the filer console, either
the Cluster considerationsYou cannot halt the filer if it is a virtual (or failed) filer. After you halt with this button, the partner takes over the filer you are halting. Reboot buttonThis button reboots the filer. Reboot the filer to activate modifications to configuration files or to run a newly installed version of filer software. Rebooting the filer halts the filer, logs a message to the /etc/messages file to indicate the filer was deliberately rebooted, and then restarts the filer. Cluster considerationsYou cannot reboot the filer if it is a virtual (or failed) filer. Halt but Don't Get Taken Over buttonThis button has the same effect as the Halt button, except the partner does not take over the filer you are halting. NOTE: This button applies only in a cluster. Cluster considerationsYou cannot halt the filer if it is a virtual (or failed) filer.
|