| Displaying share access information Modifying share access
information |
|
This window displays the names and Windows NT permissions for each share. You can also
use the buttons to create or delete a share. For an existing share, you can modify the
share and its Windows NT permisions.
The window provides two lines of information for each share. The first line displays
the following information:
- Name
- The name of the share. CIFS users use this name to connect to the share.
- Mount Point
- The complete path name of the directory on the filer that is offered as a share to CIFS
users.
- Description
- The text that describes the purpose of the share. This field is required by the CIFS
protocol. When you use Network Neighborhood to display a list of shares, you see the
description.
The second line displays the Windows NT permissions for the share. It includes the
following types of information:
- A group or user name. If a name is a group name, it is followed by {g}. For example, the
group Engineering is shown as
Engineering{g}.
NOTE: The user named "everyone" is defined by default. When
you use "everyone" in the Windows NT permissions for a specific share, it means
all CIFS users.
- The access rights to the share. They are separated from the group or user name by a
slash. The access rights are displayed in one of the following forms:
- a UNIX-style permission list in the form of "rwx"
- one of the Windows NT-style access rights, which are
- Read
- Change
- No access
- Full control
The following list describes how to use the buttons in this window to add new shares,
modify existing shares, and change access rights for a share:
- Reload
- Reloads share information from the filer.
- New Share
- Click anywhere in the display and click New Share to create a new share.
- New Access
- Click the appropriate share in the display and click New Access to grant access to the
share for a specific group or user.
- Modify
- Click the appropriate share in the display and click Modify to modify the information
for an existing share, or click the appropriate group or user in a share and click Modify
to change the access privileges for that group or user.
- Delete
- Click the appropriate share in the display and click Delete to delete an existing share,
or click the appropriate group or user in the display and click Delete to delete a
specific group or user from the share.
CAUTION: You can delete a share only if client applications have no
open files in the share you want to delete. Always check the active CIFS sessions before
you delete a share. |