disk remove disk_name
disk scrub start
disk scrub stop
disk swap
disk unswap
The filer's ``hot swap'' capability allows removal or addition of disks to the system with minimal interruption to file system activity. Before you physically remove or add a SCSI disk, use the disk swap command to stall I/O activity. After you removed or added the disk, file system activity automatically continues. If you should type the disk swap command accidentally, or you choose not to swap a disk at this time, use disk unswap to cancel the swap operation and continue service.
If you want to remove or add a fibre channel disk, there is no need to enter the disk swap command.
Before you swap or remove a disk, it's a good idea to run syconfig -r to verify which disks are where.
disk unswap undoes a disk swap command, cancels the swap operation and continues service.
disk fail disk_name
removes the specified file system disk from the RAID
configuration, spinning the disk down when removal is complete.
disk fail is used to remove a file system disk that
may be logging excessive errors and requires replacement.
Note that when a file system disk has been removed in this manner, the RAID group to which the disk belongs will enter degraded mode (meaning a disk is missing from the RAID group). If a spare disk at least as large as the disk being removed is available, the contents of the disk being removed will be reconstructed onto that spare disk.
The disk being removed is marked as ``broken'', so that if it remains in the disk shelf, it will not be used by the filer as a spare disk, and if it is moved to another filer, it will not be used by that filer as a spare disk.
disk remove disk_name
removes the specified spare disk from the RAID configuration,
spinning the disk down when removal is complete. You
can use disk remove to remove a spare disk so that it can be
used by another filer (as a replacement for a failed disk or
to expand file system space).
disk scrub start
starts a RAID scrubbing operation on all RAID groups. The
raid.scrub.enable option is ignored; scrubbing will be
started regardless of the setting of that option (the option
is applicable only to scrubbing that gets started periodically
by the system).
disk scrub stop
stops a RAID scrubbing operation.