Managing the cluster in normal mode
Cluster management overview
You manage a cluster in normal mode by performing the following actions:
Monitoring cluster status
To find out whether the cluster feature is enabled and whether the other filer in the cluster is up, enter cf status.
A display like the following appears:
filer1> cf status
Cluster enabled, filer2 is up.
This tells you that both filer1 and filer2 are functioning and available for takeover.
If you see a Cluster disabled message, it might mean that
- you disabled the cluster feature. To reenable the cluster feature, use the cf enable command.
- the system disabled clustering because the interconnect failed.
Displaying the partner's name
To find out the name of the other filer in the cluster, enter cf partner.
Displaying cluster configuration information
To find out about cluster configuration, use the sysconfig or vol status command. In a cluster, the sysconfig and vol status displays are special in that they display information about both filers.
For each filer, the sysconfig command display includes disks on both FC-AL loop A and FC-AL loop B.
- The information about disks on FC-AL loop A is the same as for filers not in a cluster.
- The information about disks on FC-AL loop B is for hardware only; the sysconfig command displays information about the adapters supporting the disks. The command does not show whether a disk on FC-AL loop B is a file system disk, spare disk, or parity disk.
Controlling time synchronization
You can disable time synchronization on a filer or in a cluster. Normally, both filers should have the same value for this option.
Licensing and unlicensing the cluster feature
You can license or unlicense the cluster feature only in normal mode with takeover disabled. Complete these steps to unlicense the cluster feature.
|
Step
|
Action
|
|---|
|
1
|
If the filer has taken over its partner, enter the following command to perform a giveback:
cf giveback
|
|
2
|
Enter the following command to disable clustering:
cf disable
|
|
3
|
Enter the following command to unlicense clustering:
license cluster=disable
|
|
4
|
Enter the following command to reboot the filer and make the change take effect:
reboot
|
Copyright © 1999, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-02334
File: clust8.htm
Last updated: 02/24/99 12:16:47