Reverting a volume to a selected snapshot
Description
Use SnapRestore to revert a volume to a snapshot. You can use this feature at any time. After you enter the command for reverting a volume, the filer reboots with the volume containing the same data as it did when the snapshot was taken.
Prerequisites
You must meet these prerequisites before using SnapRestore:
- SnapRestore is a licensed feature. You must enter the snaprestore license code before you can revert a volume to a snapshot.
- Snapshots must exist on the filer so that you can select one snapshot for the reversion.
- The volume to be reverted must be on-line.
- The volume to be reverted must not be a mirror used for data replication.
Cautions
Be sure that you understand the following rules before reverting a volume:
- SnapRestore overwrites all data in the volume. After you use SnapRestore to revert to a selected snapshot, you cannot undo the reversion.
- When you revert a source volume for data replication, try not to select a snapshot taken before the SnapMirror snapshot. If you must revert to a snapshot taken before the SnapMirror snapshot, the filer can no longer perform an incremental update of the mirror; it must recreate the base-line version of the mirror.
- Snapshot deletions are irrevocable. If you delete a snapshot, you cannot recover the snapshot by using SnapRestore.
- After you revert a volume to a selected snapshot, you lose all the snapshots that were taken after the selected snapshot.
- Reverting the root volume causes the filer to reboot with configuration files that were in effect when the snapshot was taken.
Steps
Follow these steps to revert one or more volumes. At any time before you enter y in the last step, if for some reason, you do not want to proceed with the volume reversion, enter Ctrl-C.
|
Step
|
Action
|
|---|
|
1
|
Notify network users that you are going to revert a volume so that they know the current data in the volume will be replaced by that of the selected snapshot. NFS users can unmount the files and directories in the volume before the reversion. If they do not unmount the files and directories, they might see the "Stale file handle" error message after the volume reversion.
|
|
2
|
If you know the name of the snapshot for reverting the volume, go to Step 5.
If you want to review the list of snapshots available for volume reversion, enter the following command:
vol snaprestore volume ...
volume is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path.
You can enter multiple volume names in the command, separated by spaces.
Result
The filer displays a warning message and prompts you to confirm your decision for reverting the volume.
Between the time you enter the vol snaprestore command and the time when reversion is completed, the filer stops deleting and creating snapshots.
|
|
3
|
Enter y to confirm that you want to revert the volume.
Result
The filer displays a list of snapshots for you to choose from.
|
|
4
|
Enter the name of the snapshot for reverting the volume and go to Step 7.
Result
The filer displays the name of the volume and the name of the snapshot for the reversion. Then it asks whether you want to reboot the filer to proceed with the reversion.
|
|
5
|
Enter the following command:
vol snaprestore volume -s snapshot [volume -s snapshot
...]
volume is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path.
snapshot is the name of the snapshot for volume reversion.
You can enter multiple pairs of volume name and snapshot name in the command.
Result
The filer displays a warning message and prompts you to confirm your decision for reverting the volume.
Between the time you enter the vol snaprestore command and the time when reversion is completed, the filer stops deleting and creating snapshots.
|
|
6
|
Enter y to confirm that you want to revert the volume.
Result
The filer displays the name of the volume and the name of the snapshot for the reversion. Then it asks whether you want to reboot the filer to proceed with the reversion.
|
|
7
|
Enter y to confirm that you want to continue with the reversion.
Result
The filer reboots.
|
Copyright © 1999, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-02166
File: disk10.htm
Last updated: 02/24/99 15:46:00