Disabling data replication for the entire filer
Description
You can disable data replication for the entire filer if you decide that data replication is no longer necessary. You can disable the feature at any time, even when replication is underway. The mirror remains unchanged after you disable replication.
Steps
Follow these steps to disable volume replication for the entire filer.
|
Step
|
Action
|
|---|
|
1
|
Enter the vol snapmirror off command on the destination filer to disable SnapMirror.
Result
If the filer is currently transferring data from one volume to another, the transfer stops immediately. The destination volume remains the same as before the transfer. The snapshot taken in the source volume for the data transfer remains, but is deleted and replaced by a new snapshot the next time the mirror is updated.
The filer stops reading the /etc/snapmirror.conf file every minute.
Entering the vol snapmirror off command on the destination filer does not affect SnapMirror on the source filer. Other filers can continue to replicate data from the source filer.
|
|
2
|
If the vol snapmirror on command is in the /etc/rc file, remove the command.
Note: There is no need to enter the vol snapmirror off command in the /etc/rc file. By default, data replication is disabled.
|
Copyright © 1999, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-02334
File: mirror9.htm
Last updated: 02/24/99 12:17:14