Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments

Using the restore command

Specifying automatic confirmations

About automatic confirmations  Top

Automatic confirmation means to answer yes to any restore questions.

You usually use this mode on restores run using a Remote Shell connection. A Remote Shell connection does not let you interact with the restore command; therefore, if the restore command requires user input and is run using a Remote Shell connection, it usually terminates. Specifying confirmation mode enables restores to be completed in most cases. Even with the y option, however, the restore command does not complete restores if it encounters hard media errors or unclean drives. In this case, it fails and exits.

Caution
This option is not recommended for critical restores because it can cause silent failure.

Specifying automatic confirmations  Top

To specify automatic confirmations, complete the following step.

Step

Action

1

Use the y option in the restore command line.

Note
This option does not take an argument.

Example

The following command restores a backup with automatic confirmations:

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments