To revert a volume, complete the following steps.
Note
To cancel volume reversion, press Ctrl-C at any time before you press y in
Step 8.
| 1 | Notify network users that you are going to revert a volume so they know that the current data in the volume will be replaced by that of the selected snapshot. Note |
|
| 2 | ||
You know the name of the snapshot for reverting each volume you want to revert |
Go to Step 6. |
|
You want to choose a snapshot from the list of snapshots available for reversion |
Go to Step 3. |
|
| 3 |
snap restore[-f] [-t vol] volume_name The -f option suppresses the warning message and the prompt for confirmation. The -t vol option specifies the volume name to revert. volume_name is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path. You can enter only one volume name. ResultIf you have not used the -f option, Data ONTAP displays a warning message and prompts you to confirm your decision to revert the volume. |
|
| 4 | Press y to confirm that you want to revert the volume. Result |
|
| 5 | Enter the name of the snapshot for reverting the volume, then go to Step 8. ResultData ONTAP displays the name of the volume to be reverted and the name of the snapshot to be used for the reversion. |
|
| 6 |
snap restore [-f] [-t vol] volume_name -f suppresses the warning message and the prompt for confirmation. This option is useful for scripts. -t vol volume_name specifies the volume name (volume_name) to revert. -s snapshot_name specifies the name of the snapshot from which to revert the data. You can enter only one snapshot name. volume_name is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path. You can enter only one volume name. ResultIf you have not used the -f option, Data ONTAP displays a warning message and prompts you to confirm your decision to revert the volume. |
|
| 7 | Press y to confirm that you want to revert the volume. ResultData ONTAP displays the name of the volume and the name of the snapshot for the reversion and, if you have not used the -f option, prompts you to decide whether to proceed with the reversion. |
|
| 8 | ||
ResultThe filer reverts the volume from the selected snapshot. If you are reverting the root volume, the filer reboots the system. |
||
ResultThe volume is not reverted and you are returned to a filer prompt. |
||
filer> snap restore -t vol /vol/vol1 -s nightly.0
filer> WARNING! This will restore a volume from a snapshot into the active filesystem. If the volume already exists in the active filesystem, it will be overwritten with the contents from the snapshot.
Are you sure you want to do this? y
You have selected file /vol/vol1, snapshot nightly.0
Proceed with restore? y
Data ONTAP restores the volume called vol1 at /vol/vol1.
After a volume is reverted with SnapRestore, all user-visible information (data and attributes) for that volume in the active file system is identical to that contained in the snapshot.
Copyright © 1994-2003, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-00325
File: snapres5.htm
Last updated: 01/14/03 17:50:38