Destroying volumes
About destroying volumes
There are two reasons to destroy a volume:
- You no longer need the data it contains.
- You no longer need the volume because you copied the data that it contains elsewhere.
When you destroy a volume, you convert its parity disk and all its data disks back into hot spares. You can then use them in other volumes and other filers.
Caution
If you destroy a volume, all the data in the volume is destroyed and no longer accessible.
Destroying a volume
To destroy a volume, complete the following steps.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1 |
Take the volume off-line by entering the following command:
vol offline vol-name
vol-name is the name of the volume that you intend to destroy and whose disks you are converting to hot spares.
|
|
2 |
Enter the following command to destroy the volume:
vol destroy vol-name
vol-name is the name of the volume that you intend to destroy and whose disks you are converting to hot spares.
Result:
The following events occur:
- The volume is destroyed.
- Entries in the /etc/exports file and shares that refer to the volume become incorrect.
- The in-memory information about active exports gets updated automatically, and clients continue to access the exports without problems.
|
|
3 |
If you have...
|
Then...
|
An NFS-only filer
|
Go to Step 5.
|
A CIFS-only or multiprotocol filer
|
Create shares that refer to the new volume to enable clients to access it.
|
|
4 |
If you have...
|
Then...
|
A CIFS-only filer
|
You are done.
|
A multiprotocol filer
|
Go to Step 5.
|
|
5 |
Update the system /etc/exports file with the new volume name.
|
|
6 |
Run exportfs.
|
|
7 |
Add the appropriate mount point information to the /etc/fstab or /etc/vfstab file on clients that mount volumes from the filer.
|
Copyright © 1994-2003, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-00322
File: data-o13.htm
Last updated: 01/22/03 16:16:52