Deciding when to use SnapRestore
Considerations before using SnapRestore
You must take into account the following considerations before deciding whether to use SnapRestore to revert a file or volume.
Prerequisites
You must meet these prerequisites before using SnapRestore:
- SnapRestore must be licensed on your filer.
- There must be at least one snapshot on your filer that you can select for the reversion.
- The volume to be reverted must be online.
- The volume to be reverted must not be a mirror used for data replication.
General cautions
Be sure that you understand the following facts before using SnapRestore:
- SnapRestore overwrites all data in the file or volume. After you use SnapRestore to revert to a selected snapshot, you cannot undo the reversion.
- If you revert to a snapshot taken before a SnapMirror snapshot, Data ONTAP can no longer perform an incremental update of the mirror; it must re-create the baseline version of the mirror.
- Snapshot deletions are irrevocable. If you delete a snapshot, you cannot recover the snapshot by using SnapRestore.
- After you revert a volume to a selected snapshot, you lose all the snapshots that were taken after the selected snapshot.
- Between the time you enter the snap restore command and the time when reversion is completed, Data ONTAP stops deleting and creating snapshots.
- If you are reverting a file from a snapshot, you can delete other snapshots, except for the snapshot you are reverting from.
Caution about reverting the root volume
Because the /etc directory of the root volume contains configuration information about the filer, reverting the root volume might change the filer configuration. In addition, restoring the root volume restores options settings for the entire filer to the settings that were in effect when the snapshot was taken. Reverting a root volume requires rebooting the system.
Preserving configuration files
To avoid reverting the configuration files, complete the following step.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1 |
Store all data that might need to be reverted in a volume other than the root volume. This ensures that you never need to revert the root volume.
|
Reverting a root volume
If you need to revert a root volume, complete the following step.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1 |
If the data you want to revert resides in the root volume, back up the /etc directory to another volume or another filer before using SnapRestore. After you revert the root volume, restore the /etc directory and reboot the filer.
If you back up the /etc directory to another volume, you can use the following command to make the filer reboot with that volume as the root volume:
vol options volume root
In this way, when the filer reboots during the reversion, it can use the correct settings in the /etc directory.
|
Copyright © 1994-2003, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-00476
File: snapres3.htm
Last updated: 11/13/03 17:17:25