Splitting a mirrored volume removes the relationship between the two plexes and creates two independent unmirrored volumes. After splitting, the new volume is in a restricted state and the original volume stays in an online state.
Note
You cannot rejoin the two new unmirrored volumes to recreate the original mirrored volume. To mirror one or both of these volumes, see Adding a plex to an existing unmirrored volume.
You might split a mirrored volume for one of the following reasons:
Note
You do not need to stop applications that are running before splitting a mirrored volume.
To split a mirrored volume into two independent unmirrored volumes, complete the following steps.
Note
Ensure that both plexes of the mirrored volume you are splitting are online and operational. See Changing the state of a plex for information about viewing the state of a plex.
Before splitting, a mirrored volume has two plexes, plex0 and plex1. After splitting, the new unmirrored volume with the new name has one plex, plex0. The new unmirrored volume with the original name also has one plex, either plex0 or plex1.
The plex name for an unmirrored volume is unimportant because the volume has only one plex. If you remirror one of these unmirrored volumes, the resulting mirrored volume plex names will always be plex0 and plex1.
Copyright © 1994-2003, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-00476
File: syncmir9.htm
Last updated: 11/13/03 17:17:52