Automatic confirmation means answering yes to any restore questions.
You usually use this mode on restores run using a Remote Shell connection. A Remote Shell connection does not let you interact with the restore command; therefore, if the restore command requires user input and is run using a Remote Shell connection, it usually terminates. Specifying confirmation mode enables such restores to be completed in most cases. Even with the y option, however, the restore command fails if it encounters hard media errors or unclean drives.
Caution
This option is not recommended for critical restores because it can cause silent failure.
To specify automatic confirmations, complete the following step.
| 1 | Use the y option in the restore command line. Note |
The following command restores a backup with automatic confirmations:
Copyright © 1994-2003, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-00546
File: recove21.htm
Last updated: 12/02/03 18:26:38