Manage LUNs |
![]() |
![]() |
|
| ||||
![]() |
![]() |
Procedures |
![]() |
More Information |
|
| |
The Manage LUNs page enables you to perform the following tasks:
You can add a new LUN by clicking the Add option (LUNs > Add) on the left side of your FilerView interface or by clicking the Add New LUN link in the Manage LUNs page.
Network Appliance recommends the following best practice for volumes containing a LUN:
Disable scheduled auto snapshots.
To add a LUN, complete the following steps.
If you are at the Manage LUNs page rather than
at the Add LUN page, go to the Add LUN page by clicking the Add New LUN
link.
Result: The Add LUN page is displayed.
In the Path field, enter the path for the LUN
you want to create.
The directory specified in the path name must be a volume or qtree
root directory.
(Optional) From the LUN Type list, select the type of LUN.
The type of LUN is specified to indicate the contents of the LUN.
(Optional) In the Description field, enter a description
(comment) for the LUN.
You can specify up to 1024 characters in this field.
In the Size field, enter the size of the LUN.
From the Units list, select a multiplier for the
LUN size.
By default, Gigabytes is selected.
Select the check box in the Space Reserved field to indicate whether you want space reserved for this LUN.
Click Add.
To modify an existing LUN, complete the following steps.
If you are at the Manage LUNs page rather than
at the Modify LUN page, go to the Modify LUN page by clicking the name
of the LUN you want to modify.
Result: The Modify LUN page is displayed.
Enter a new description in the Description field to modify the LUN description.
Enter a new value in the Size field to modify the LUN size.
Select the check box in the Space Reserved field to indicate whether you want space reserved for this LUN.
Select a new multiplier in the Units field to modify the unit type for the LUN size.
Click Apply.
The Show Maps link on the Manage LUNs page enables you to view the LUN-to-initiator group mappings of all the LUNs on your filer. The initiator groups to which a LUN is mapped are listed in the Maps column of the displayed report. If a LUN is not mapped, the Map column displays No Maps.
The Hide Maps link on the Manage LUNs page hides the names of initiator groups to which a LUN is mapped.
To show a LUN's initiator group mapping, complete the following step.
Click Show Maps on the Manage LUNs page.
Result: A report containing the name of all LUNs on your filer
and initiator groups that they are mapped to (under the Maps heading)
is displayed. If a LUN is not mapped, No Maps is displayed.
Mapping a LUN to an initiator group:
To map a LUN to an initiator group, complete the following steps.
If you are at the Manage LUNs page rather than
at the LUN Map page, go to the LUN Map page by clicking the link corresponding
to the LUN you want to map in the Maps column.
Result: The LUN Map page is displayed.
Click the Add Groups to Map link.
Result: The LUN Map Add Groups page is displayed.
From the Initiator Groups list, click the names
of groups you want to map to the LUN.
You can select multiple names by holding down the Shift key on your
keyboard. (Use the Alt key for UNIX platforms.)
Click Add.
Result: The groups that you selected in the preceding step are
displayed on the LUN Map page.
(Optional) Enter unique LUN IDs in the LUN
ID field, corresponding to each group that you added.
Although you can specify a LUN ID from 0 to 4095 in the Data ONTAP
software, your host system might impose a different limit. If you do not
enter a LUN ID, the Data ONTAP software automatically selects the smallest
number that is available, starting with 0.
Click Apply.
To unmap a LUN from an initiator group, complete the following steps.
If you are at the Manage LUNs page rather than
at the LUN Map page, go to the LUN Map page by clicking the link corresponding
to the LUN you want to unmap in the Maps column.
Result: The LUN Map page is displayed.
Select the Unmap check box of the initiator group that you want to unmap.
Click Apply.
To modify a LUN ID, complete the following steps.
If you are at the Manage LUNs page rather than
at the LUN Map page, go to the LUN Map page by clicking the link corresponding
to the LUN whose LUN ID you want to modify in the Maps column.
Result: The LUN Map page is displayed.
Enter the new unique LUN ID in the LUN ID field.
Although you can specify a LUN ID from 0 to 4095 in the Data ONTAP
software, your host system might impose a different limit. If you do not
enter a LUN ID, the Data ONTAP software automatically selects the smallest
number that is available, starting with 0.
Click Apply.
You can view the LUN status and size on the Manage LUNs page.
If you are at any other page and need to view the status and size of LUNs on your filer, click the Manage option (LUNs > Manage) on the left side of the FilerView interface.
You can change the status of a LUN to offline or online.
When a LUN is created, it is automatically brought online by Data ONTAP.
When you take a LUN offline, the block protocol access to the LUN is disabled. However, the mappings to the LUN, if any, are not destroyed.
To change the status of a LUN, complete the following steps.
If you are at the Manage LUNs page rather than
at the Modify LUN page, go to the Modify LUN page by clicking the name
of the LUN for which you want to change the status.
Result: The Modify LUN page is displayed.
If you want to change the LUN status to offline,
click Offline.
Result: A confirmation box asking you to confirm the action
is displayed.
Click OK.
If you want to change the status of an offline
LUN to online, click Online.
Result: A confirmation box asking you to confirm the action
is displayed.
Click OK.
You can delete (destroy) a LUN from the Modify LUN page.
When you delete a LUN, the contents and configuration information related to that LUN are deleted.
To delete a LUN, complete the following steps.
If you are at the Manage LUNs page rather than
at the Modify LUN page, go to the Modify LUN page by clicking the name
of the LUN that you want to delete.
Result: The Modify LUN page is displayed.
Click Delete.
Result: A confirmation box asking you to confirm the action
is displayed.
Click OK.