Shut Down and Reboot

   Concepts   

   Procedures

   More Information   

The Shut Down and Reboot page enables you to accomplish the following tasks:

About halting the filer

The Halt button halts the filer. After you click this button, the following events take place:

After you halt the filer, you cannot continue to use FilerView to communicate with it. You must use the filer console for entering filer commands. 

Cluster considerations

You cannot halt the filer if it is an emulated (or failed) filer.

After you halt a clustered filer, the partner takes over the filer you halted.

Note: If the filer is part of a cluster, a Halt but No Takeover button is displayed, enabling you to halt the filer. However, the partner does not take over the filer you are halting.

About rebooting the filer

The Reboot button reboots the filer. You can reboot the filer to activate any modifications to configuration files or to run a newly installed version of filer software.

Rebooting the filer halts the filer, logs a message to the /etc/messages file to indicate the filer was deliberately rebooted, and then restarts the filer.

Cluster considerations

You cannot reboot the filer if it is a emulated (or failed) filer.