Manage Volumes |
![]() |
![]() |
|
| ||||
![]() |
![]() |
Procedures |
![]() |
More Information |
|
| |
In the Manage Volumes page, you can perform the following procedures:
To take one or more volumes offline, complete the following steps:
Select the check box next to each volume you want to take offline.
Click Offline.
Result: A pop-up window appears, asking you to confirm that you want to take the selected volume(s) offline.
Click OK.
Result: Each volume you selected is taken offline.
Note: If you try to bring a foreign volume online, you must first rename the foreign volume. A foreign volume is a volume that consists of disks moved from another filer and that has never been brought on-line on the current filer. By default, a foreign volume name contains the parenthesis characters, which are illegal characters for the names of native volumes.
To bring one or more volumes online, complete the following steps:
Select the check box next to each volume you want to bring online.
Click Online.
Result: A pop-up window appears, asking you to confirm that you want to bring the selected volume(s) online.
Click OK.
Result: Each volume you selected is brought online.
You can make a volume restricted and make it available only for a few operations. You do this for the following reasons:
To copy a traditional volume to another traditional volume
To perform a level-0 SnapMirror operation
To restrict one or more volumes, complete the following steps:
Select the check box next to each volume you want to restrict.
Click Restrict.
Result: A pop-up window appears, asking you to confirm that
you want to restrict the volume(s).
Click OK.
Result: Each volume you selected is put into a restricted state.
Note To remove the restriction, bring the volume online.
This option enables you to destroy a specific volume. If the volume to be destroyed is a traditional volume, its disks become spare disks for the filer.
Note A volume must be offline to destroy it.
To destroy one or more volumes, complete the following steps.
Select the check box next to each volume you want to destroy.
Click Destroy.
Result: A confirmation popup is displayed to remind you that the data on each selected volume will be lost.
Click OK.
Result: A message is displayed, stating that each selected volume has been destroyed.
This option enables you to modify the parameters of a selected volume, including the following types of items:
Maximum number of files
Maximum directory size
Whether to create new directories in Unicode
Whether to convert existing directories to Unicode
Whether minimal read ahead is enabled
Whether access time on an inode is turned on or off
RAID group disk size (traditional volumes only)
It is not necessary to change all fields within this window; change only those fields that you need to modify.
Note A volume must be online to modify it. Select the check box next to the name of the volume you want to bring online, then click Online.
To modify an existing volume, complete the following steps:
Click the name of the volume you want to modify.
Result: The Volume Properties page is displayed.
Click Modify.
Result: The Modify Volume Wizard is launched in a new window.
Follow the prompts in the Wizard to make the necessary changes to the volume parameters.
Showing RAID details (traditional volumes only):
To show RAID information for a traditional volume (actually the RAID information of its containing aggregate), complete the following steps.
In the Manage Volumes page, click the name of
the traditional volume for which you want to show the RAID information.
Result: The Volume Properties page is displayed.
Click Show RAID.
Result: The RAID Details page for the traditional volume is displayed.
Adding disks (traditional volumes only):
To enlarge the size of a traditional volume by adding more disks to its containing aggregate, complete the following steps:
From the Manage Volumes page, click the name of
the traditional volume you want to enlarge.
Result: The Volume Properties page is displayed.
Click Add Disks to start the Volume Wizard.
Follow the instructions in the Volume Wizard.
Resizing storage (flexible volumes only):
To resize the storage of a flexible volume, complete the following steps:
From the Manage Volumes page, click the name of
the flexible volume you want to resize.
Result: The Volume Properties page is displayed.
Click Resize Storage to start the Volume Wizard.
Follow the instructions in the Volume Wizard.
To rename a specific volume on the filer, complete the following steps.
From the Manage Volumes page, click the name of the volume you want to rename.
Result: The Volume Properties page is displayed.
Click Rename
Result: The Rename Volume page is displayed.
Ensure that the volume you want to rename is displayed in the Existing Volume field.
In the New Volume Name field, enter the name you want this volume to have.
Click Rename.
Result: A message indicates that the volume has been renamed successfully.