Destroying volumes
About destroying volumes
There are two reasons to destroy a volume:
- You no longer need the data it contains.
- You copied the data it contains elsewhere.
When you destroy a traditional volume
You also destroy the traditional volume's dedicated containing aggregate. This converts its parity disk and all its data disks back into hot spares. You can then use them in other aggregates, traditional volumes, or storage systems.
When you destroy a FlexVol volume
All the disks included in its containing aggregate remain assigned to that containing aggregate.
Attention
If you destroy a volume, all the data in the volume is destroyed and no longer accessible.
Destroying a volume
To destroy a volume, complete the following steps.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Take the volume offline by entering the following command:
vol offline vol_name
vol_name is the name of the volume that you intend to destroy.
|
|
2
|
Enter the following command to destroy the volume:
vol destroy vol_name
vol_name is the name of the volume that you intend to destroy.
Result:
The following events occur:
- The volume is destroyed.
- If NFS is in use and the nfs.exports.auto-update option is On, entries in the /etc/exports file that refer to the destroyed volume are removed.
- If CIFS is running, any shares that refer to the destroyed volume are deleted.
- If the destroyed volume was a FlexVol volume, its allocated space is freed, becoming available for allocation to other FlexVol volumes contained by the same aggregate.
- If the destroyed volume was a traditional volume, the disks it used become hot-swapable spare disks.
|
|
3
|
If you access your storage system using NFS, update the appropriate mount point information in the /etc/fstab or /etc/vfstab file on clients that mount volumes from the storage system.
|
Copyright © 1994-2005, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-01085_B0
File: 6vol18.htm
Last updated: 01-Dec-2005 16:51:37