Ordinarily, SnapMirror updates the destination automatically according to the update schedule you specify in the /etc/snapmirror.conf file. However, you can also initiate updates manually with the snapmirror update command. You might need to run an unscheduled update to prevent data loss resulting from a scheduled or threatened power outage or from a destination volume being taken offline for maintenance, repair, upgrade, or data migration. You can also include the snapmirror update command in an external script if you want to drive updates using that script.
To perform an unscheduled SnapMirror incremental update, independent of the schedule in the /etc/snapmirror.conf file, complete the following step.
Using the following command, SnapMirror updates the destination (vol2 on systemB) from the source specified in the /etc/snapmirror.conf file:
systemB> snapmirror update systemB:vol2
Using the following command, SnapMirror updates the qtree destination on systemB:/vol/vol2/usersbak from the source qtree on systemA:/vol/vol1/users:
systemB> snapmirror update -S systemA:/vol/vol1/users systemB:/vol/vol2/usersbak
To establish an extra backup Snapshot copy on both sides of a SnapMirror qtree relationship, you can create a manual Snapshot copy using the snap create command and then use the -c and -s options of the snapmirror update command together. These extra backup Snapshot copies can serve as the newest common Snapshot copy in case a base Snapshot copy was accidentally deleted. You can also use them to resynchronize a SnapMirror qtree relationship to an earlier resynchronization point.
systemB> snap create vol2 my_snap
systemA> snapmirror update -S systemB:/vol/vol2/qtree1 -s my_snap - c my_dest_snap vol/vol4/qtreeSafe
You create a Snapshot copy on systemB (the source) called my_snap. Then on systemA (the destination), you update the data in systemA:/vol/ vol4/qtreeSafe from the data in my_snap and store the updated data in the Snapshot copy you create called my_dest_snap. SnapMirror does not automatically delete my_snap and my_dest_snap because they are user-originated Snapshot copies.
Changes on the source are reflected on the destination after SnapMirror completes the transfer. Changes being copied are not visible during the transfer and are not visible if the transfer is interrupted. After the destination update is finished, you see the changes if you open the file.
SnapMirror automatically deletes old Snapshot copies that are no longer necessary for updating data.
Copyright © 1994-2005, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-01081_B0
File: mirror13.htm
Last updated: 01-Dec-2005 16:36:03