Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments

Snapshot copy autodelete

Defining a policy for automatically deleting Snapshot copies  Top

To define and enable a policy for automatically deleting Snapshot copies, complete the following step:

Step

Action

1

Enter the following command:

snap autodelete vol-name on option value

on enables the Snapshot copy autodelete policy.

You can define which Snapshot copies you delete by entering the following options and their values:

 

Option

Values

 

commitment

Specifies whether a Snapshot copy is linked to data protection utilities (SnapMirror or NDMPcopy) or data backing mechanisms, (volume or LUN clones).

  • try--delete only Snapshot copies that are not linked to data protection utilties and data backing mechanisms.
  • disrupt--delete only Snapshot copies that are not linked to data backing mechanisms.
 

trigger

Defines when to begin automatically deleting Snapshot copies.

  • volume--begin deleting Snapshot copies when the volume is nearly full
  • snap_reserve--begin deleting Snapshot copies when the Snapshot reserve is nearly fully.
  • space_reserve--begin deleting Snapshot copies when the space reserved in the volume is nearly full.
 

target_free_space

Determines when to stop deleting Snapshot copies. Specify a percentage. For example, if you specify 30, then Snapshot copies are deleted until 30 percent of the volume is free space.

 

delete_order

  • newest_first--delete the most recent Snapshot copies first.
  • oldest_first--delete the oldest Snapshot copies first.
 

defer_delete

Delete one of the following types of Snapshot copies last:

  • user_created--Snapshot copies that are not autoscheduled
  • prefix--Snapshot copies with the specified prefix_string
 

prefix

Delete Snapshot copies with a specific prefix last. You can specify up to 15 characters (for example, sv_snap_week). Use this option only if you specify prefix for the defer_delete option.

Viewing current Snapshot copy autodelete settings  Top

To view current autodelete settings, complete the following step:

Step

Action

1

Enter the following command:

snap autodelete vol-name show

Result

Snapshot copy autodelete settings revert to the following defaults:

  • state--off
  • commitment --try
  • trigger--volume
  • target_free_space-- 20%
  • delete_order--oldest_first
  • defer_delete--user_created
  • prefix-- no prefix specified

Restoring default Snapshot copy autodelete settings  Top

To restore default Snapshot copy autodelete settings, complete the following step.

Step

Action

1

Enter the following command:

snap autodelete vol-name reset

vol-name is the name of the volume.

Result

Snapshot copy autodelete settings revert to the following defaults:

  • state--off
  • commitment --try
  • trigger--volume
  • target_free_space-- 20%
  • delete_order--oldest_first
  • defer_delete--user_created
  • prefix-- no prefix specified

Disabling a Snapshot copy autodelete policy  Top

To disable a Snapshot copy autodelete policy complete the following step.

Step

Action

1

Enter the following command:

snap autodelete vol-name off

vol-name is the name of the volume.

Result

Snapshot copies are not automatically deleted when the volume is nearly full.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments