Deciding when to use SnapRestore
Considerations before using SnapRestore
You must take into account the following considerations before deciding whether to use SnapRestore to revert a file or volume.
Prerequisites
You must meet these prerequisites before using SnapRestore:
- SnapRestore must be licensed on your storage system.
- There must be at least one Snapshot copy on the system that you can select to revert.
- The volume to be reverted must be online.
- The volume to be reverted must not be a mirror used for data replication.
General cautions
Be sure that you understand the following facts before using SnapRestore:
- SnapRestore overwrites all data in the file or volume. After you use SnapRestore to revert to a selected Snapshot copy, you cannot undo the reversion.
- If you revert to a Snapshot copy taken before a SnapMirror Snapshot copy, Data ONTAP can no longer perform an incremental update of the mirror; it must re-create the baseline version of the mirror.
- Snapshot copy deletions are irrevocable. If you delete a Snapshot copy, you cannot recover the Snapshot copy by using SnapRestore.
- After you revert a volume to a selected Snapshot copy, you lose all the Snapshot copies that were taken after the selected Snapshot copy.
- Between the time you enter the snap restore command and the time when reversion is completed, Data ONTAP stops deleting and creating Snapshot copies.
- If you are reverting a file from a Snapshot copy, you can delete other Snapshot copies, except for the Snapshot copy you are reverting from.
Caution about reverting the root volume
Because the /etc directory of the root volume contains configuration information about the system, reverting the root volume might change the configuration. In addition, restoring the root volume restores options settings for the entire system to the settings that were in effect when the Snapshot copy was taken. Reverting a root volume requires rebooting the system.
Preserving configuration files
To avoid reverting the configuration files, complete the following step.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Store all data that might need to be reverted in a volume other than the root volume. This ensures that you never need to revert the root volume.
|
Reverting a root volume
If you need to revert a root volume, complete the following step.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
If the data you want to revert resides in the root volume, back up the /etc directory to another volume or another storage system before using SnapRestore. After you revert the root volume, restore the /etc directory and reboot.
If you back up the /etc directory to another volume, you can use the following command to make the system reboot with that volume as the root volume:
vol options volume root
In this way, when the system reboots during a revert, it can use the correct settings in the /etc directory.
|
Copyright © 1994-2005, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-01081_B0
File: snapres3.htm
Last updated: 01-Dec-2005 16:36:02