To revert a volume, complete the following steps.
Note
To cancel volume reversion, press Ctrl-C at any time before you press y in
Step 8.
| 1 |
Notify network users that you are going to revert a volume so they know that the current data in the volume will be replaced by that of the selected Snapshot copy. Note |
|
| 2 | ||
|
You know the name of the Snapshot copy for reverting each volume you want to revert |
Go to Step 6. | |
|
You want to choose a Snapshot copy from the list of Snapshot copies available for reversion |
Go to Step 3. | |
| 3 |
snap restore -t vol volume_name -t vol specifies the volume name to revert. volume_name is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path. You can enter only one volume name. Note |
|
| 4 |
Press y to confirm that you want to revert the volume. Result |
|
| 5 |
Enter the name of the Snapshot copy for reverting the volume, then go to Step 8. ResultData ONTAP displays the name of the volume to be reverted and the name of the Snapshot copy to be used for the reversion. |
|
| 6 |
snap restore -t vol -s snapshot_name volume_name -t vol specifies the volume name to revert. -s snapshot_name specifies the name of the Snapshot copy from which to revert the data. You can enter only one Snapshot copy name. volume_name is the name of the volume to be reverted. Enter the name only, not the complete path. You can enter only one volume name. |
|
| 7 |
Press y to confirm that you want to revert the volume. ResultData ONTAP displays the name of the volume and the name of the snapshot for the reversion and, if you have not used the -f option, prompts you to decide whether to proceed with the reversion. |
|
| 8 | ||
ResultThe system reverts the volume from the selected Snapshot copy. If you are reverting the root volume, the system reboots. | ||
ResultThe volume is not reverted and you are returned to a prompt. | ||
system> snap restore -t vol -s nightly.0 /vol/vol1
system> WARNING! This will restore a volume from a snapshot into the active filesystem. If the volume already exists in the active filesystem, it will be overwritten with the contents from the snapshot.
Are you sure you want to do this? y
You have selected file /vol/vol1, snapshot nightly.0
Proceed with restore? y
Data ONTAP restores the volume called vol1 at /vol/vol1.
After a volume is reverted with SnapRestore, all user-visible information (data and attributes) for that volume in the active file system is identical to that contained in the Snapshot copy.
Copyright © 1994-2005, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-01081_B0
File: snapres5.htm
Last updated: 01-Dec-2005 16:36:02