Reverting to the Data ONTAP 7.0 release family
Issues you must resolve when reverting
The following sections discuss upgrade issues that you must resolve when reverting to a Data ONTAP 7.0 family release:
SnapVault relationships to SnapLock volumes must be removed before reverting
Before reverting to a version of Data ONTAP earlier than 7.1, SnapVault relationships to SnapLock volumes must be removed. This includes
- Destroying all SnapVault relationships to WORM volumes
- Deleting all snapshots on the WORM volumes
- Destroying all volumes which have been used as LockVaultTM log volumes
For more information about SnapVault and SnapLock technologies, see the Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide.
Secondary SnapVault configurations must be removed from NearStore systems before reverting
If you revert a NearStore system that is being used as a SnapVault secondary storage system to a Data ONTAP release earlier than 7.1, you must remove SnapVault configuration from all qtrees on all volumes. This includes
- SnapVault secondary qtrees
- Open Systems SnapVault secondary qtrees
- Qtrees that are the destination of VERITAS NetBackup backups (both Project 2 and Project 3 volumes)
To do so, complete the following steps at the NearStore system command line.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Identify qtrees under SnapVault control by entering the following command:
snapvault status
|
|
2
|
For each qtree identified in the previous, enter the following command:
snapvault stop -f /vol/my_volume/my_qtree
|
|
3
|
If you are managing NearStore systems with VERITAS NetBackup, enter the following commands for each volume containing NetBackup backups:
snapvault stop -f /vol/my_volume/.nbu_image_data snap delete -a -f my_volume
|
For more information about managing secondary SnapVault relationships on NearStore systems, see the Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide.
Reversion cannot take place during I2P initialization
When you upgrade to Data ONTAP 7.1, inode to pathname (I2P) information is written to each existing volume. You cannot revert to an earlier release while the system is being scanned to initialize I2P. Before proceeding with the reversion, you must do one of the following:
- Wait until the I2P scan completes. This can take many hours, depending on the number of inodes and volumes on your system.
- Abort the I2P scan.
To abort the I2P scan, complete the following step.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Enter the following command:
vol options no_i2p on
Result
Inode to pathname translation is disabled immediately and the reversion can proceed.
Note Because any I2P information is removed during a reversion, reverting to an earlier release can take several hours, depending on the number of inodes and volumes on your system, and whether the I2P scan completed.
|
Copyright © 1994-2005, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-01083_B0
File: 5revert4.htm
Last updated: 16-Dec-2005 18:19:19