Data ONTAP 7.1 introduces a vfiler dr resync command that enables you to resynchronize your original vFiler unit with the currently activated disaster-recovery vFiler unit before bringing up the original vFiler unit. This method not only saves you from deleting the original vFiler unit and creating a new vFiler unit, but also does not require a baseline transfer (involving a large amount of data), which would otherwise occur between the new vFiler unit and the disaster-recovery vFiler unit.
If the original vFiler unit needs to be resynchronized, the vfiler dr resync command is executed on the storage system on which that vFiler unit exists. If the disaster-recovery vFiler unit has been activated, the resync operation proceeds to update the original vFiler unit. After the update, the resync operation does not activate the original vFiler unit. The original vFiler unit becomes the disaster-recovery vFiler unit and the currently active disaster-recovery vFiler unit continues to serve data.
If you want to switch the roles of the two vFiler units, you must do that by using the vfiler dr activate command on the original vFiler unit.
After the roles have been switched and the original vFiler unit has been reactivated, you can use the vfiler dr resync command on the now deactivated disaster-recovery vFiler unit to synchronize it with the original vFiler unit. The disaster-recovery vFiler unit goes back to being the backup vFiler unit, ready for use if the original vFiler unit goes down.
When the vfiler dr resync command is executed on the storage system on which the disaster-recovery vFiler unit exists, it can issue an update for the existing storage elements and add and remove storage elements from the disaster-recovery vFiler unit.
Note
The vfiler dr resync command does not retrieve any configuration changes that might have been done on the disaster-recovery vFiler unit and preserves the IP information (including DNS and NIS) of the storage system on which the command is run.
You can use the vfiler dr resync command if the following prerequisites are met:
To resynchronize the original vFiler unit on the original storage system with the currently activated disaster-recovery vFiler unit, perform the following steps.
Attention
On the storage system on which you are resynchronizing the original vFiler unit, protect any volumes that have the same names as volumes on the disaster-recovery vFiler unit.
If a volume with the same name exists, the volume is automatically added and initialized for SnapMirror transfers from the disaster-recovery vFiler unit. Any existing data on the newly added volume is lost.
| 1 |
Ensure that the original vFiler unit (the one you are trying to resync) is in a stopped state. If not, enter the following command to stop the vFiler unit: vfiler stop vfilername |
|
| 2 |
On the original storage system, enter the following command: vfiler dr resync [-l authinfo] [-a alt-remote, alt-local] [-s] dr_vfilername@disaster_recovery_filer authinfo is the authentication information specified in the username:password format. The username is the login name of the administration host on the disaster recovery storage system and the password is the password for that user name. If you do not specify the authentication information in the vfiler dr resync command, you are prompted for it when the command is run. alt-remote is the alternate hostname or IP address of the source (the disaster recovery storage system, in this case). alt-local is the alternate hostname or IP address of the destination (the original storage system, in this case). -s enables you to set up a synchronous SnapMirror relationship between the source and destination storage systems. dr-vfilername is the name of the disaster-recovery vFiler unit that is currently in the activated state. disaster_recovery_filer is the name of the storage system on which the currently activated disaster-recovery vFiler unit exists.
|
|
| 3 |
After the resync operation is complete, enter the following command on the storage system on which the original vFiler unit exists to check the status of the vFiler unit that was resynchronized: vfiler status -r original_vfilername The original vFiler unit will be in a stopped, DR backup state. This is because the vfiler dr resync command does not activate the vFiler unit upon resynchronizing. The vFiler unit continues to behave like a backup disaster-recovery vFiler unit until you use the vfiler dr activate command to reactivate it. For information on how to activate the vFiler unit, see procedure Activating the disaster-recovery vFiler unit. |
|
| 4 |
Reinstate the disaster-recovery vFiler unit on the disaster-recovery storage system. |
|
|
On the disaster-recovery storage system, enter the following command: vfiler dr resync [-l authinfo] [-a alt- remote, alt-local] [-s] original_vfilername@original_filer For details of the vfiler dr resync command, see Step 2 of Resynchronizing the original vFiler unit. | ||
| ||
If the vfiler dr resync operation is interrupted or does not complete, you must perform the following steps.
| 1 | ||
| ||
|
Perform the steps listed in Reactivating the original vFiler unit using SnapMirror commands. | ||
|
Continue with Step 2. | ||
| 2 |
Enter the following command to check if the vFiler unit you were resyncing exists on the storage system on which you were running the vfiler dr resync command: vfiler status |
|
| 3 |
If the vFiler unit exists, enter the following command to destroy it: vfiler destroy vfilername |
|
| 4 |
Enter the following command to re-create the vFiler unit you destroyed earlier: vfiler create -r vfilername pathname |
|
| 5 |
Enter the following command to resync the vFiler unit: vfiler dr resync [-l authinfo] [-a alt-remote, alt-local] [-s] dr_vfilername@disaster_recovery_filer For details of the vfiler dr resync command, see Step 2 of Resynchronizing the original vFiler unit. |
|
Copyright © 1994-2005, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 210-01078-B0
File: disast10.htm
Last updated: 08-Dec-2005 13:31:53