Manage Aggregates

In the Manage Aggregates page, you can perform the following procedures:

Taking an aggregate offline:

You take an aggregate offline to make it unavailable to the filer. In general, an aggregate is taken offline only in the presence of a corruption that forces it offline so that the wafliron and WAFL_check processes can be run.

Note: You cannot take an aggregate offline if it contains flexible volumes.

To take one or more aggregates offline, complete the following steps.

  1. Select the check box of the aggregate(s) you want to take offline.

  2. Click Offline.

  3. Result: A pop-up window appears, asking you to confirm that you want to take the selected aggregate(s) offline.

  4. Click OK.

  5. Result: Each aggregate you selected is taken offline.

Bringing an aggregate online:

You bring an aggregate online to make it available to the filer after you have taken it offline and are ready to put it back in service. If the aggregate contains a traditional volume, the traditional volume is brought online as well. If the aggregate contains flexible volumes, the flexible volumes are returned to the mount state each was in before the aggregate was taken offline.

Note: If the aggregate is foreign, it will be made native before being brought online. A foreign aggregate consists of disks moved from another filer and has never been brought online on the current filer. Aggregates that are not foreign are considered native.

To bring an aggregate online, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the check box next to the aggregate(s) you want to bring online.

  2. Click Online.

  3. Result: A pop-up window appears, asking you to confirm that you want to bring the selected aggregate(s) online.

  4. Click OK.

  5. Result: Each aggregate you selected is brought online.

Restricting an aggregate:

You only restrict an aggregate if you want it to be the target of an aggregate copy operation. For information about the aggregate copy operation, see the Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide.

Note: You cannot restrict an aggregate if it contains flexible volumes.

To restrict one or more aggregates, complete the following steps.

  1. Select the check box for the aggregate(s) you want to restrict.

  2. Click Restrict.

    Result:
    A pop-up window appears, asking you to confirm that you want to restrict the aggregate(s).

  3. Click OK.

Result: Each selected aggregate is put into a restricted state.

Note: To remove the restriction, bring the aggregate online.

Destroying an aggregate:

This option enables you to destroy a specific aggregate. The disks originally in the aggregate become spare disks for the filer.

Note: An aggregate must be offline before you can destroy it.

To destroy an aggregate, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the check box next to the aggregate you want to destroy.

  2. Click Destroy. If the aggregate contains one or more volumes, a confirmation pop-up is displayed to remind you that the data on the volumes will be lost.

  3. Click OK to destroy the aggregate. A message stating that the aggregate has been destroyed is displayed.

Displaying aggregate properties:

To display the properties of an aggregate, click the name of the aggregate.

Result: The Aggregate Properties page for the selected aggregate appears.

 

Related Topics