Managing Plexes

In the Manage Plexes page, you can perform the following procedures:

Bringing a plex online or offline:

To bring a plex online or take a plex offline, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the check box next to the plex you want to bring online or take offline.

  2. Click Online or Offline, depending on the status of the selected plex.

  3. Click OK at the prompt to continue with the process or Cancel to cancel the process.

If you click OK, a message is displayed similar to the following:

Plex plexname is now online|offline.

  1. Click Back to return to the Manage Plexes window.

Destroying a plex:

This option enables you to destroy a specific plex. After destroying the plex, its disks become spare disks for the filer.

Note: A plex must be offline to destroy it.

To destroy a plex, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the check box for the plex you want to destroy.

  2. Click Destroy.

  3. Click OK at the prompt to destroy the plex. A message stating that the plex has been destroyed is displayed.

  4. Click Back to return to the Manage Plexes window.

Splitting a mirrored aggregate:

This option enables you to remove the mirrored data relationship between the two plexes and to create two independent unmirrored aggregates. After splitting, the new aggregate is in an online state and the original aggregate stays in an online state.  

To split a mirrored aggregate, complete the following steps.

  1. Select the checkbox of the plex(es) you want to split.

  2. Click Split.

    Result:
    A pop-up message asks if you want to split the selected plex(es).

  3. Click OK.

  4. Each selected plexed aggregate is split into two aggregates.

Note: If the mirrored aggregate contains flexible volumes, each flexible volume will be brought into the mount state it was in before the plex was split. This will cause both naming and FSID conflicts that Data ONTAP resolves for you. See the Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide for details.

Related Topics