Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments

Modifying content distribution resources

Adding and deleting destinations

Adding destination servers  Top

To add destination servers, add the servers to your physical network and confirm their connectivity, then install or activate ContentDirector. Follow the instructions in the ContentDirector Installation Guide to activate and configure the embedded ContentDirector agent.

ContentDirector recognizes each new destination server as soon as it starts the ContentDirector Agent. If you create a group leader and group members, ContentDirector recognizes a new network segment.

Adding new destinations to destination groups  Top

To add a new destination to an existing destination group, modify the destination group from the ContentDirector main screen and add the new destination as a member. For more information see Modifying and deleting destination groups.

When you add a new destination to an existing destination group, ContentDirector gives you the option of automatically replicating on the newly added destination all the jobs that are currently associated with the destination group.

To add a new destination to a destination group, complete the following steps.

Step

Action

1

At the Destinations view of the main screen, click the Destination Groups tab.

2

Right-click the destination group to which you want to add the new destination. .

3

Click Modify.

4

Under Available Destinations, click the name of the destination you want to add.

5

Click Add.

6

Click OK.

7

At the Replicate Options screen, you can select the upper checkbox to enable Replicate Job Content To New Destinations to replicate all jobs currently associated with this destination group to the new destination. If you choose not to replicate the content on the new destination, leave the checkbox disabled.

Result

The lower checkbox becomes active.

8

Select the lower checkbox to enable Remove New Destinations From Group if Replicate Fails. This option forces ContentDirector to check the status of the replication attempt after it runs, and removes the newly added destination from the destination group if the replication failed.

Deleting network segments and destinations  Top

ConentDirector enables system administrators to delete network segments or destinations.

To delete network segments or destinations, complete the following steps.

Caution
Deleting a network segment deletes all destinations on that segment from ContentDirector. Deleting any network segment or destination means that you can no longer distribute content to that location. Accidentally deleting the wrong transport group leader in ContentDirector means that you must restart the group leader machine to recover it. Be sure that you identify the correct network segment or destination before deleting it.

Step

Action

1

Log in as a system administrator.

2

On the ContentDirector left menu bar, click Networks.

3

Click the Network Segment tab.

4

Right-click the network segment or destination you want to delete.

5

Click Delete.

Recovering a deleted transport group member  Top

If you accidentally delete the wrong transport group member, recover it by completing the following steps:

Step

Action

1

On the toolbar near the top of the ContentDirector main screen, click Refresh.

Result: The refresh function re-enters the deleted transport group member into ContentDirector.

Note
The above instructions work only with transport group members. If you have accidentally deleted the wrong transport group leader in ContentDirector, you must restart the group leader machine to recover it.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments