Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments

Modifying content distribution resources

Modifying and deleting policies

Who can modify policies  Top

Any system administrator, and the domain administrator for the domain where the policy resides can modify the policy. The user who created the policy can also modify it.

Modifying policies requires technical understanding of how networks handle content, as well as knowledge of your organization's goals and guidelines for distributing content. For this reason, only qualified personnel should modify policies.

Reasons to modify policies  Top

You might want to change the properties of a policy if:

You can change all properties of a policy, except its name.

To modify a policy, complete the following steps.

Step

Action

1

At the ContentDirector main screen, on the left tool bar click Policies.

2

Select the policy you want to modify.

3

Double-click the policy to open it.

4

Make the desired changes.

5

Click OK to save your changes and return to the main screen.

Who can delete policies  Top

Any system administrator, and the domain administrator for the domain where the policy resides, can delete the policy. The user who created the policy can also delete it.

Which policies you can delete  Top

You can delete any policy that is not attached to jobs, except the default policy. If the policy is attached to jobs, ContentDirector displays an error if you attempt to delete it. Before deleting the policy, you must modify the jobs to reference another policy.

The default policy cannot be deleted.

Deleting policies  Top

To delete a policy, complete the following steps.

Step

Action

1

At the ContentDirector main screen, on the left tool bar click, click Policies.

2

Right-click the policy you want to delete.

3

Click Delete.

4

Click Yes at the confirmation screen.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments