Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments

About log rotation

Log rotation defined  Top

When log rotation is the log file switching technique (the default), logs remain on the NetCache appliance until they are rotated out. The NetCache appliance keeps the current log file and up to 10 previous log files on disk for each protocol.

Rotated logs remain in the NetCache appliance logs directory and are viewable from the Appliance Manager.

Note
Configuration of the log rotation switching technique does not affect the Messages log. The Messages log files are rotated automatically.

What happens when logs rotate  Top

When the NetCache appliance rotates the logs, it deletes the oldest log file and saves the active log file to disk. The NetCache appliance keeps the current log file and up to 10 previous log files on disk.

Changing from log rotation to log pushing  Top

When you change the log file management technique from log rotation to log pushing, the NetCache appliance schedules all the old logs to be pushed to the FTP or Web server. If you do not want the old logs to be pushed to the FTP or Web server, delete the logs before committing the configuration change.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments