Vserver : Storage > Volumes : Configuring volumes : Deleting Snapshot copies
Deleting Snapshot copies
You can delete a Snapshot copy to conserve space or free disk space, or if the Snapshot copy is no longer required. If you want to delete a Snapshot copy that is busy or locked, then you have to release the Snapshot copy from the application that is using it.
About this task
•
You cannot delete the base Snapshot copy in a parent volume if a FlexClone volume is using that Snapshot copy.
The base Snapshot copy is the Snapshot copy that is used to create the FlexClone volume, and displays the status "busy, vclone" in the parent volume.
•
You cannot delete locked Snapshot copies because the SnapMirror or SnapVault relationship requires these copies for the next update.
For more information about deleting busy Snapshot copies, see the
Data ONTAP Cluster-Mode Data Protection Guide
.
Steps
1.
From the
Home
tab, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
Ensure that the left navigation pane displays the Vservers hierarchy.
3.
In the navigation pane,
select the Vserver and
click
Storage
>
Volumes
.
4.
Select the appropriate volume that contains the Snapshot copy you want to delete.
5.
Click
Snapshot Copies
in the lower pane of the
Volumes
window
.
6.
In the lower window pane, select the Snapshot copy that you want to delete.
7.
Click
Delete
.
8.
Select the confirmation check box and click
Delete
.
Related reference
Volumes window
Was this topic helpful? Send
comments
to NetApp.