Storage : Volumes : Managing volumes : Restoring a volume from a Snapshot copy
Restoring a volume from a Snapshot copy
You can restore a volume to a state recorded in a previously created Snapshot copy to retrieve lost information. Keep in mind that restoring a Snapshot copy overwrites the existing volume configuration. Any changes made to the data in the volume after the Snapshot copy was made are lost.
Before you begin
•
SnapRestore license must be installed on your system.
•
If the volume you want to restore contains a LUN, the LUN must be unmounted or unmapped.
•
There must be enough available space for the restored volume.
•
Users accessing the volume must be notified that you are going to revert a volume, and that the data from the selected Snapshot copy replaces the current data in the volume.
Steps
1.
From the
Home
tab, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
In the navigation pane,
click
Storage
>
Volumes
.
3.
Select the volume that you want to restore from a Snapshot copy.
4.
Click
Snapshot Copies
>
Restore
.
5.
Select the appropriate Snapshot copy and click
Restore
.
6.
Select the confirmation check box and click
Restore
.
Related reference
Volumes window
Was this topic helpful? Send
comments
to NetApp.