When you reconfigure CIFS on storage systems running Data ONTAP 8.x operating in 7-Mode from the CIFS Setup wizard, all existing user-created CIFS shares are deleted. However, the default CIFS shares that are created by Data ONTAP are not deleted, but their access permissions are reset to the default values.
For more information, see the customer support bulletin CSB-1207-02.