Table of ContentsLibraryView in Frames

About restoring LUNs from Snapshot copies

When you restore a LUN from a Snapshot copy, the LUN reverts to the state it was in when the Snapshot copy was made: the restore operation overwrites all data written to the LUN since the Snapshot copy was made.

A LUN restore recalls a selected Snapshot copy. During a restore, the entire LUN drive is restored from the Snapshot copy. For a restore to succeed, no open connections can exist between the host machine (or any other application) and the files in the LUN.

Note: If you need to restore an expanded disk from a Snapshot copy, you should use a Snapshot copy that was created after the LUN was expanded. SnapDrive does not allow you to restore a LUN from a Snapshot copy that was made before the disk was expanded. If you need to do this, you must disconnect the disk using SnapDrive, then restore the disk from the storage system console using the snap restore command. For more information, see the Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide. When the LUN is restored, reconnect the disk using SnapDrive.

For instructions on restoring a LUN from a Snapshot copy, go to “Restoring a LUN from a Snapshot copy” on page 164.