You can disconnect a LUN from a host without affecting the contents of the LUN, or you can permanently delete a LUN.
When the host is disconnected from a LUN, you cannot see or modify the LUN’s contents, make Snapshot copies of the LUN, or use Snapshot technology to restore the LUN to a previous Snapshot copy. However, the LUN still exists on the storage system volume.