You can disconnect a LUN from a host in SnapDrive for Windows without affecting the contents of the LUN, or you can permanently delete a LUN. You can also use SnapDrive for Windows to disconnect a LUN in a Snapshot copy or FlexClone volume.
- When the host is disconnected from a LUN, you cannot see or modify the LUN’s contents, make Snapshot copies of the LUN, or use Snapshot technology to restore the LUN to a previous Snapshot copy; however, the LUN still exists on the storage system volume.
- You must make sure that the LUN you are disconnecting or deleting is not monitored with the Windows Performance Monitor (perfmon).
- Make sure that the LUN you want to disconnect or delete is not being used by a host.
- You can only disconnect or delete a shared LUN (that is, a non-quorum disk) after removing the cluster resource dependencies from the LUN and verifying that all nodes in the cluster are powered on and functioning properly.
Note: SnapDrive manages the dependencies to the root disk for volume mount points.
- When disconnecting or deleting LUNs on a Microsoft cluster, you must make sure that all hosts in the cluster are available to SnapDrive for the disconnect or delete operation to succeed.
- You can disconnect a quorum disk only after replacing it with another disk that takes over as a quorum disk for the cluster.
- Use the Delete Disk feature cautiously, because after you delete a LUN, you cannot use SnapDrive to undelete it.
- If you disconnect a LUN in a FlexClone volume that SnapDrive for Windows created and it is the last LUN connected on the volume, SnapDrive, deletes that volume resulting in the deletion of all LUNs in the FlexClone volume. SnapDrive displays a message warning you that the FlexClone volume might be deleted.
To avoid automatic deletion of the FlexClone volume, rename the volume before disconnecting the last LUN. When you rename the volume, be sure to change more than just the last integers in the name. For instance, if the FlexClone volume is named sdw_cl_myvol_0, rename it to new_sdwvol_0, and not to sdw_cl_myvol_20. If you rename only the last integers in the volume name, SnapDrive still recognizes that it created that volume and it will delete the volume when you disconnect the last LUN. The renamed FlexClone volume is visible after you refresh SnapDrive MMC.
- If you unmap or delete a LUN from the storage system console, you must also remove any stale RDMs that result from unmapping or removing the LUN.