You can delete a LUN using the SnapDrive for Windows MMC snap-in.
Before you begin
If you are deleting a disk that contains volume mount points, disconnect the mounted volumes on the disk first before deleting the disk. For example, disconnect G:\mount_disk1\, then disconnect G:\. If you do not disconnect the mounted volume before you delete it, Windows keeps the volume mount point information in the Recycle Bin and both Windows and SnapDrive continue to see the mount point as valid. If your volume mount point contains data, remember that SnapDrive will not warn you that data is present when you delete the mount point.
About this task
Use the Delete Disk feature cautiously, because after you delete a LUN, you cannot use SnapDrive to undelete it.
Steps
- Make sure that neither Windows Explorer nor any other Windows application is using or displaying any file on the LUN you intend to delete.
- Under SnapDrive in the left MMC pane, expand the instance of SnapDrive you want to manage, then expand Disks and select the disk you want to manage.
- From the menu choices at the top of MMC, navigate to .
- When prompted, click Yes to proceed with the operation.
Note: This procedure will not delete the folder that was created at the time the volume mount point was added. After you remove a mount point, an empty folder will remain with the same name as the mount point you removed.
The icons representing the deleted LUN disappear from MMC.