Keep the following points in mind when working with Snapshot copies and LUNs that are backed up by a Snapshot copy:
- Information written to the .rws file is temporary; SnapDrive deletes the .rws file when you disconnect.
- You cannot merge the data written to the .rws file with the data in the Snapshot copy referenced by the .rws file.
- You cannot delete a Snapshot copy that is in use by a LUN backed by a Snapshot copy.
- You can connect to the LUN Snapshot copy only by using read/write mode and a LUN that is backed by a Snapshot copy.
- You should avoid creating a Snapshot copy of a LUN backed by a Snapshot copy. Doing so will lock the Snapshot copy backing the LUN until the newer Snapshot copy—and all Snapshot copies of that LUN—are deleted.