Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments

Deleting snapshots

How to delete a snapshot  Top

Network Appliance recommends that you manage the number of snapshots stored using automatic snapshot deletion.

You can manage the number of snapshots stored and delete older snapshots automatically using the "Delete Oldest Snapshots in Excess Of" feature in the SnapManager Backup window.

Management of snapshots using automatic deletion  Top

When you use the SnapManager Backup feature to immediately back up a Data directory or schedule a Data directory for backup at a later time, you can also specify the number of snapshots of the backup to be retained.

To do so, you use the Delete Oldest Snapshots in Excess Of field. When the Delete Oldest Snapshots in Excess Of field is enabled, SnapManager Backup deletes older snapshots that exceed the number you specify. It deletes only snapshots that have the prefix "dominosnap" (on the Data directory volume).

SnapManager deletes the oldest snapshot only after it backs up the Data directory in the backup set that satisfies the criteria for triggering deletion--that is, the data set whose snapshot addition exceeds the maximum number. This type of deletion occurs automatically after you configure the option. This method of snapshot deletion is the recommended one.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Next Comments