Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments

Deleting backups using the Action menu

About using the Action menu to delete backups  Top

You can use the Action menu's Delete Backup option to select a storage group set whose data set backups you want to delete. This menu option is available from the Backup and Verification tab or the SnapManager Restore tab.

If you use this method of deleting backups, the following facts are true:

You can perform the following operations using this option:

Deleting backups using the Action menu  Top

To delete the oldest backups of a particular storage group set and backup management group, complete the following steps.

Note
The Backup Component list is available to provide you with a list of the backup components on your SnapManager system. You cannot select an individual backup component for deletion using this list. To show the Backup Component list, click Show Backup Components List.

For information about deleting individual backups, see Deleting selected backups.

For information about how to delete snapshots created during a restore, see Deleting restore snapshots using the Action menu.

Step

Action

1

In the SnapManager main window, select Action > Delete Backup.

Result

The Delete Backups window is displayed.

2

Select the Delete Backups radio button.

3

Select the storage group set (Store) whose backups are to be deleted.

Note
By default, this dialog box deletes only backups containing all the selected storage groups. If you want to also delete backups containing only some of the selected storage groups, use the Advanced options. For more information about this option, see Delete backup advanced option.

4

In the Backup Component drop-down list, select whether you want to delete a complete backup set or only the SnapInfo snapshot.

Note
Usually you delete complete backup sets. However, if you need a way to free some space or reduce your snapshot count without deleting a SnapManager backup, you can delete SnapInfo snapshots without affecting the associated backup.

5

In the Management Group field, select the backup management group of the backups you want to delete.

Note
If you want to delete backups from any backup management group, select All.

6

Using the Retain Up-to-the-Minute Restore Ability... check box, select whether you want to retain the ability to use any older backups that might remain after the deletion to perform up-to-the-minute restores.

Note
If you selected All for the backup management group, this check box has no effect and is disabled.

For more information about this option, see Option to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability.

7

If you want to...

Then...

Delete only the oldest backups in the specified backup management group

Select the Delete Oldest Backup In Excess Of radio button and specify how many of the newest backups in the specified backup management group you want to preserve.

Delete all the backups in the specified backup management group

Select the Delete All Backups in Specified Management Group radio button.

Caution
If you selected All for your backup management group, this action deletes all your SnapManager backups.

8

If you want to...

Then...

See what backup components would be deleted with the parameters you have entered without deleting them

Click Delete Preview and proceed to Step 9.

Result

The Delete Backup Data Set Preview window is displayed. After a moment, a count and list of the backup components identified for deletion are displayed.

Delete the backup components

Click Delete.

Result

The backup components identified by your selections are deleted. When the deletion is complete, a status popup is displayed. You have completed this procedure.

9

If, after previewing the deletion, you want to delete the backup components listed in the preview, click Delete on the Delete Backup Data Set Preview window.

Result

The backup components listed in the preview window are deleted.

Deleting restore snapshots using the Action menu  Top

To delete snapshots created during previous restores, complete the following steps.

Step

Action

1

In the SnapManager main window, select Action > Delete Backup.

Result

The Delete Backups window is displayed.

2

Select the Delete Snapshot of LUNs Created During Restore radio button.

3

If you want to...

Then...

Delete only the oldest restore snapshots

Select the Delete Oldest Snapshots In Excess Of check box and specify how many of the newest restore snapshots you want to preserve.

Delete all the restore snapshots

Select the Delete All Snapshots Created During Restore check box.

4

If you want to...

Then...

See what restore snapshots would be deleted without deleting them

Click Delete Preview and proceed to Step 5.

Result

The Delete Backup Data Set Preview window is displayed. After a moment, a count and list of the restore snapshots identified for deletion are displayed.

Delete the restore snapshots

Click Delete.

Result

The restore snapshots identified by your selections are deleted. When the deletion is complete, a status popup is displayed. You have completed this procedure.

5

If, after previewing the deletion, you want to delete the restore snapshots listed in the preview, click Delete on the Delete Backup Data Set Preview window.

Result

The restore snapshots listed in the preview window are deleted.

Delete backup advanced option  Top

When you use the Action menu to delete a backup, you specify which storage groups (Stores) the backups to be deleted must contain. However, you might want to delete a backup that contained only some of the selected storage groups. You can use the Delete Backup Sets That Contain One or More of the Selected Storage Groups check box in the Advanced option of the Delete Backup window to accomplish this. If this check box is selected, any backup containing any of the selected storage groups is deleted.

Note
This option is useful only if you created backups that did not contain all storage groups in a storage group set. For easiest backup administration, NetApp recommends that you always back up an entire storage group set.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments