You can create or schedule a SnapManager backup using the SnapManager Backup Wizard or the Backup and Verification tab. See the following topics for more information:
To perform a SnapManager backup, provide the following information:
For details, see How backup management groups are used.
For details, see Managing the backup setting.
For details, see Automatic deletion of backups in a management group.
For details, see Option to back up transaction logs that Exchange will truncate.
For details, see Option to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability.
Although it is possible to restore from an unverified backup, you are strongly advised to restore only from verified backups.
For details, see How SnapMirror replication works.
For details, see Using Run Command After Operation to archive automatically.
To back up the Exchange databases using the SnapManager Backup Wizard, complete the following steps.
| 1 |
In the SnapManager for Microsoft Exchange main window, click the SnapManager Backup Wizard icon. |
|
| 2 |
ResultThe Databases to Back Up or Verify screen appears. The Microsoft Exchange Servers navigation tree in the left panel lists the Exchange data stores that are managed from the current Exchange server.
|
|
| 3 |
Follow the instructions in the Backup Wizard to initiate your backup. For a list of information you need to provide as you complete this step, see Information you need to specify for a backup. |
|
| 4 |
At the Completing the Backup Wizard dialog box, click Finish after you verify that all the settings in the window are true. ResultThe Backup Status window appears. |
|
| 5 |
In the Backup Status Window, click Start Now to start the backup. ResultThe backup is performed and the Snapshot copy is written to the volume. SnapManager Backup completes each task and checks it off on the list shown in the Backup Task List view. You can switch back and forth between the task check-off list and the progress report using the Switch buttons on either window. If the backup is successful, the Task view shows the check-off list with the tasks completed. Note |
|
To back up your Exchange data store using the Backup tab, complete the following steps.
| 1 |
In the SnapManager interface, select the Backup and Verification tab. ResultThe Backup and Verification tab is activated. The Microsoft Exchange Servers navigation tree in the left panel lists the Exchange data stores that are managed from the current Exchange server.
|
|
| 2 |
In the Backup window, select the storage groups (Stores) you want to back up. |
|
| 3 |
In the Backup Management Group field, select the management group for the backup you want to create. For more information about backup management groups, see How backup management groups are used. |
|
| 4 |
If you want to delete older backups of this backup management group automatically, select one of the "Delete backups" options in the Advanced Options dialog box. Note If you do not select automatic backup deletion, backups will be retained indefinitely. This would require manual removal of backups, or sufficient storage capacity for all backups and transaction logs. For more information, see Automatic deletion of backups in a management group and Explicit deletion of backup Snapshot copies. |
|
| 5 |
By default, automatic deletion of older backups within a backup management group is done selectively, in such a way that it does not cause a break in the continuity of transaction logs between the previous backup and the present time. However, if you do not need to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability from a backup that is not the most recent, you can allow the automatic deletion feature to delete all older backups within the backup management group. This reduces storage system space consumption. Note For more information, see Option to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability. To view or change this setting, click Advanced, and then select or deselect the "Retain up-to-the-minute restore ability for older backups in other management groups" option. |
|
|
Avoid creating a break in the continuity of transaction logs (between the previous backup and the present time) |
Select the "Retain up-to-the-minute restore ability for older backups in other management groups" option. ResultSnapshots of LUNs that contain transaction logs related to this backup management group will not be deleted from the SnapInfo directory. | |
|
Reduce storage system space consumption by transaction logs (by allowing more transaction logs to be deleted) |
Deselect the "Retain up-to-the-minute restore ability for older backups in other management groups" option. | |
| 6 |
By default, SnapManager backs up selected database files and all associated transaction logs, so that up-to-the-minute restores are possible from all backups. However, if you do not need to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability from a backup that is not the most recent, you can omit the backup of transaction logs that Exchange will truncate after the backup finishes. To do this, you disable the "Back up transaction logs that will be truncated by Exchange at the end of the backup" option. This reduces the amount of disk space consumed by transaction log backups that Exchange will truncate after the backup finishes. For more information, see Option to back up transaction logs that Exchange will truncate. To view or change this setting, click Advanced, and then select or deselect the "Back up transaction logs that will be truncated by Exchange at the end of the backup" option. |
|
|
Retain up-to-the-minute restore ability from a backup that is not the most recent |
Select the "Back up transaction logs that will be truncated by Exchange at the end of the backup" option selected. This option is automatically selected each time you launch SnapManager. | |
|
Reduce the amount of disk space consumed by transaction log backups that Exchange will truncate after the backup finishes |
Deselect the "Back up transaction logs that will be truncated by Exchange at the end of the backup" option. The option remains disabled only until you exit SnapManager. Note | |
| 7 | ||
|
You want to verify the backup immediately after the backup is complete |
Select the Verify Backed Up Databases and Transaction Logs check box. | |
|
Do not select the Verify Backed Up Databases and Transaction Logs check box. | ||
|
Note |
||
| 8 |
If you want to run a command after the backup is complete, select the Run Command After Operation check box. This is usually done to archive backups. For details, see Using Run Command After Operation to archive automatically. |
|
| 9 |
If your volume is a SnapMirror source volume and you do not want the destination volume to be updated after this backup is complete, clear the Update SnapMirror After Operation check box. |
|
| 10 | ||
|
Click Backup Now, and then proceed to Step 14. ResultThe Backup Status window appears, showing the Task list. | ||
|
ClickSchedule to use the Windows Task Manager to schedule your backup, and then proceed to the next step. | ||
| 11 |
In the Schedule Jobs window, name your backup job, provide the user ID and password for the job, then click OK. Note ResultThe Schedule Job window is displayed. |
|
| 12 |
In the Schedule Job window, use the Schedule tab to specify the parameters of your job schedule: |
|
| 13 |
After you schedule your job, click OK. ResultThe backup job runs at the times you specified in the Schedule Task view. The backup process is complete. Note |
|
| 14 |
In the Backup Status window, click Start Now to back up the selected storage groups. ResultThe backup is performed and the Snapshot copy is written to the volume. SnapManager Backup completes each task and checks it off on the list shown in the Backup Task List view. You can switch back and forth between the task check-off list and the progress report using the Switch buttons on either window. If the backup is successful, the Task view shows the check-off list with the tasks completed. Note |
|
Copyright © 1994-2006, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 215-01873_A0
File: backup2.htm
Last updated: 28-Mar-2006 11:31:01