Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments

Using backup management groups in backup and verification

When you create a database backup, you have the option to assign it to one of the backup management groups. The database Snapshot copy names and SnapInfo directory Snapshot copy names reflect the management group to which you assigned the backup. The purpose of backup management groups is to enable you to designate various levels of backup retention. See the following topics for more information:

How a backup is assigned a backup management group  Top

When you create a backup, you can assign it to any one of the SnapManager backup management groups:

When you start or schedule a database backup, the Backup Wizard and the Backup and Verification tab prepopulate the backup management group selection field with the Standard group.

The choice of backup management group--combined with the backup Snapshot copy naming convention selected (unique or generic)--affects the name assigned to the backup Snapshot copy. The name of each Snapshot copy created during a SnapManager backup operation includes information that identifies the Snapshot copy contents. This is described in SnapManager Snapshot copy naming conventions.

How backup management groups are used  Top

The primary purpose of backup management group is to facilitate a database backup strategy. Backup management groups are used to determine which backups are targeted for automatic deletion of older backups, database verification for unverified backup Snapshot copies, and explicit deletion of backups.

For example, when you run or schedule a backup, you can specify how many of the most recent backups you want to retain. Only backups of the specified backup management group are deleted.

Note
The backup management group neither depends on nor enforces how often backups are performed. Backup management groups are only a backup labeling convention that you can assign to a backup set.

Options for a database backup

When you run or schedule a database backup, you can specify how many of the most recent backups you want to retain. Only backups of the specified backup management group are deleted. The procedural details are included in Backing up databases.

Options for a database verification

When you run or schedule a database verification separate from the database backup operation, you can limit the backups you want to verify by specifying a particular backup management group. The procedural details are included in Verifying backup databases.

Options for an explicit deletion of multiple backup Snapshot copies

When you explicitly delete multiple backups, you can specify that only backups belonging to a certain backup management group be deleted. The procedural details are included in Explicitly deleting backups and SnapInfo Snapshot copies.

Backup example using backup management groups

Suppose your company wants to take regular backups between 7:30 a.m. and 7:30 p.m. You want to keep the last backup of the day and retain it for a few weeks, and you want to keep one backup per week for several months for archiving.

To achieve this using backup management groups, you could use the Standard backup management group for the backups during the day, and use a separate backup job to create one backup in the Daily management group at the end of the day. Then, once a week, you could use another job to create a backup in the Weekly backup management group.

You could then decide how many backups to retain independently for each backup management group. For example, you could keep ten Standard backups, seven Daily backups (one week's worth), and four Weekly backups (one month's worth).

If your Daily or Weekly backup job failed for any reason, you could promote the most recent successful Standard backup to replace the Daily or Weekly backup by changing its backup management group.

Changing the backup management group  Top

Use the Change Backup Management Group dialog box to change the backup management group to which the selected backup set belongs.

To change the backup management group, complete the following steps.

Step

Action

1

In the SnapManager main window, select the SnapManager Restore tab.

2

Select (left-click) the backup whose management group you want to change.

3

Right-click the backup and select Change Management Group from the pop-up menu.

Result

The Change Backup Management Group dialog box is displayed.

4

Review the backups listed in the Backups Sharing This Snapshot list.

Note
The backup management group for all these backups is changed if you complete this operation. This is because they share a common Snapshot copy.

5

In the New Management Group list, select the backup management group you want to change to.

Note
When you change a backup's backup management group, you also change that backup's name, because the name includes the backup management group.

6

Click OK.

Result

The backup management group for this backup and all backups listed in the All Backups Sharing This Snapshot list is changed.

Note
The report for the backup management group change is in the Miscellaneous report directory.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments