You are strongly advised to restore only from verified backups. By default, SnapManager does not allow you to select an unverified backup as the source of the restore operation. However, if a verified backup is not available when you need to restore and you cannot wait for a verification to complete before restoring, you can override the verification requirement and restore directly from an unverified backup. For more information, see the following topics:
By default SnapManager Restore requires that you restore only from verified backups. To override this requirement until you exit the SnapManager application, complete the following steps.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Open the Verification Settings dialog box:
- From the SnapManager menu bar, select Options > Database Verification Settings.
- From the Backup Wizard, go to the Verify the Databases and Transaction Logs in this Backup screen, and then click Verification Settings.
- From the Restore Wizard, go to the Verify the Database Integrity in this Backup screen (displayed only if you choose to restore from an unverified backup), and then click Verification Settings.
|
|
From the...
|
Do this...
|
|
SnapManager menu bar
|
Select Options > Database Verification Settings.
|
|
Backup Wizard
|
Go to the Verify the Databases and Transaction Logs in this Backup screen, and then click Verification Settings.
|
|
Restore Wizard
|
Go to the Verify Database Integrity in the Selected Backup screen (displayed only if you choose to restore from an unverified backup, and then click Verification Settings.
|
|
2
|
Select the Override Verification tab.
|
|
3
|
Configure the Override Database Verification Requirement for Restore option:
|
|
4
|
If a message box appears, do the following:
- Heed the warning in the message box:
WARNING: An unverified backup may contain an image of an Exchange database that is physically corrupt. If the backup contains physical database corruption, this corruption will persist in the restored database.
Are you sure that you want to enable this option?
- If want to enable the option, click OK; otherwise, click No.
Result
The message box closes.
|
|
5
|
To close the dialog box and apply your change, click OK.
Note If you are using the Restore Wizard, selecting this option causes the "Verify the database integrity of this backup prior to restoring it" option to become accessible so that you can disable it.
|
|
If...
|
Then...
|
|
The override option is disabled (the default and recommended setting)
|
You cannot select an unverified backup as the source of the restore operation.
|
|
The override option is enabled (not recommended)
|
If you select an unverified backup as the source of the restore operation, you are given the option to proceed with the restore operation.
Note This option is reset when you exit SnapManager.
|