Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments

Explicitly deleting storage group backups

Use the "Delete backups" dialog box to explicitly delete multiple Snapshot copies from one or more storage groups. You can delete entire backup sets, only the SnapInfo Snapshot copies related to selected backup sets, or Snapshot copies created during previous restore operations. For more information, see the following topics:

Explicitly deleting backups and SnapInfo Snapshot copies  Top

To explicitly delete backups (or only the SnapInfo Snapshot copies related to those backup sets) that contain one or more selected storage groups, complete the following steps.

Step

Action

1

In the SnapManager main window, select Action > Delete Backup.

Result

The Delete Backups dialog box displays.

2

Select the Delete Backups radio button.

3

If you want to display a list of the backup components on your SnapManager system, click Show Backup Components List.

Note
You cannot select an individual backup component for deletion using this list.

4

Select one or more storage group sets whose backups are to be deleted.

5

To expand the scope of the deletion to include backups that contain only some of the selected storage groups (in addition to backups that contain all of the selected storage groups), do the following:

    1. Click Advanced to open the "Advanced Options" dialog box.
    2. Select the "Delete backups that contain databases belonging to one or more of the selected storage groups" option.

Result

For this backup deletion operation only, multiple backup deletions will delete backups containing any one or more of the selected databases.

Note
This option is useful only if you created backups that did not contain all storage groups in a storage group set. For easiest backup administration, it is best if you always back up an entire storage group set.

6

The Backup Component selection narrows the scope of the deletion by specifying the type of backup components to be deleted.

This option is set to Backup Data Sets by default, so that you will delete entire backup sets, including related transaction logs and SnapInfo directories. You can narrow this selection further by selecting SnapInfo Snapshots Only.

Note
Usually you delete complete backup sets. However, if you need a way to free some space or reduce your Snapshot copy count without deleting a SnapManager backup, you can delete SnapInfo Snapshot copies without affecting the associated backup.

7

The Management Group selection further narrows the scope of the deletion by specifying the backup management group of the backups you want to delete.

This option is set to Standard by default, but you can change it to Daily, Weekly, or All.

8

If you want to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability for older backups in other backup management groups, leave that option selected.

To access this option, click Advanced to open the "Advanced Options" dialog box.

  • If you select this option, transaction logs will be deleted only from the specified backup management group; transaction logs will not be deleted from other backup management groups.
  • If you clear this option, transaction logs will be deleted from other backup management groups as well.

    Note
    If you selected All for the backup management group, this option has no effect and is disabled.

For more information about this option, see Option to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability.

9

Use the "Backups to delete" panel to specify which backups, of those in the specified storage group and backup management group, that you want to delete.

If you want to delete...

Then...

The oldest backups so that only a specified number of backups remain for that backup management group (quantity-based deletion)

Do the following:

    1. Select the "Delete oldest backups in excess of" option.
    2. Specify how many of the newest backups in the specified backup management group you want to preserve.

All the backups in the specified backup management group

Select the "Delete all backups in the specified management group" option.

Only the backups that are older than a specified number of days (age-based deletion)

Do the following:

    1. Select the "Delete backups older than" option.
    2. Specify the number of days for which you want to keep the most recent backups.
10

If you want to...

Then...

See what backup components would be deleted with the parameters you have entered without deleting them

Click Delete Preview and proceed to Step 11.

Result

The Delete Backup Data Set Preview window is displayed. After a moment, a count and list of the backup components identified for deletion are displayed.

Delete the backup components

Click Delete.

Result

The backup components identified by your selections are deleted. When the deletion is complete, a status popup is displayed. You have completed this procedure.

11

If, after previewing the deletion, you want to delete the backup components listed in the preview, click Delete on the Delete Backup Data Set Preview window.

Result

The backup components listed in the preview window are deleted.

Explicitly deleting Snapshot copies created by SnapManager Restore  Top

To delete Snapshot copies created during previous restores, complete the following steps.

Note
This is the only way to delete Snapshot copies created by SnapManager Restore.

Step

Action

1

In the SnapManager main window, select Action > Delete Backup.

Result

The Delete Backups dialog box displays.

2

Select the "Delete snapshot of LUNs created during restore" option.

3

If you want to display a list of the backup components on your SnapManager system, click Show Backup Components List.

Note
You cannot select an individual backup component for deletion using this list.

4

Use the "Snapshots to delete" panel to specify which restore Snapshot copies you want to delete.

If you want to delete...

Then...

The oldest restore Snapshot copies so that only a specified number of backups remain (quantity-based deletion)

Do the following:

    1. Select the "Delete oldest snapshots in excess of" option.
    2. Specify how many of the newest restore Snapshot copies you want to preserve.

All the restore Snapshot copies

Select the "Delete all snapshots created during restore" option.

Only the restore Snapshot copies that are older than a specified number of days (age-based deletion)

Do the following:

    1. Select the "Delete backups older than" option.
    2. Specify the number of days for which you want to keep the most recent restore Snapshot copies.
5

If you want to...

Then...

See what restore Snapshot copies would be deleted without deleting them

Click Delete Preview and proceed to Step 6.

Result

The Delete Backup Data Set Preview dialog box appears. After a moment, a count and list of the restore Snapshot copies identified for deletion are displayed.

Delete the restore Snapshot copies

Click Delete.

Result

The restore Snapshot copies identified by your selections are deleted. When the deletion is complete, a status popup is displayed. You have completed this procedure.

6

If, after previewing the deletion, you want to delete the restore Snapshot copies listed in the preview, click Delete on the Delete Backup Data Set Preview dialog box.

Result

The restore Snapshot copies listed in the preview window are deleted.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments