If you attempt to delete a backup and you get an error message saying that the Snapshot copy is busy and cannot be deleted, you have a backup that was taken of a LUN backed by another Snapshot copy. In this case, you need to delete the more recently taken backup before the older backup can be deleted.
To see if you have busy Snapshot copies, you can view your Snapshot copies in FilerView or use the storage system snap list command. For more information about deleting busy Snapshot copies, see the System Administration Block Access Guide for your version of Data ONTAP.
Note
To avoid this situation in the future, make sure that you do not take backups while you have any LUNs backed by Snapshot copies (for example, during a verification or while archiving from a LUN backed by a Snapshot copy). For more information about scheduling your SnapManager tasks, see Recommendations for scheduling backups.
Copyright © 1994-2006, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 215-01873_A0
File: ssmgmt4.htm
Last updated: 28-Mar-2006 11:31:03