You can use the Configuration wizard to move the databases and transaction logs to the newly configured LUN, to modify data configuration settings, or to validate the databases that you moved or added. You must re-run Configuration wizard if you change the Exchange configuration manually.
Before using SnapManager to create a backup and to restore an Exchange database, you must use the SnapManager Configuration wizard to migrate the databases and transaction logs from your Exchange servers to the LUNs you configured on your storage system with SnapDrive.
After the initial configuration, you can re-run the Configuration wizard at any time to review or make changes to your Exchange database configuration.
If you add databases, or move databases to different LUNs without using SnapManager, run the Configuration wizard to ensure that the databases are stored in valid locations and to map those databases to their respective SnapInfo subdirectories.
Whenever you change the Exchange configuration manually using SnapDrive or the Exchange System Manager, you need to re-run the Configuration wizard to inform SnapManager that the Exchange configuration has been modified. For example, when you manually change the SnapManager configuration from using volume mountpoints to using drive letters, or from using drive letters to using volume mountpoints, you need to re-run the Configuration wizard before the changes take effect. Another reason to re-run the Configuration wizard is when a new database is added by using the Exchange System Manager.